Red Hat Linux

Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) was launched in November 2010. It replaces the old Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT) qualification.

The RHCSA exam (EX200) is 100% performance-based, coming after a review of the knowledge and skills required daily by today’s system administrators.

Since 2010, the RHCSA has been made a prerequisite for those taking the Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) qualification.

Red Hat has announced a new addition to its line of performance-based certifications—Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA), which will replace Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT).

one must earn RHCSA and pass a separate RHCE exam.

After passing RHCE one can take upper-level credentials such as Red Hat Certified Architect, Red Hat Certified Security Specialist, and Red Hat Certified Datacenter Specialist.

Beginning with Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6, candidates must pass both the RHCSA and RHCE exams in order to earn their RHCE. This is similar to the existing requirement that candidates pass both RHCT and RHCE components in the existing RHCE exam, except that the two exams are now separate.

The RHCSA exam (EX200) and the RHCE exam (EX300)

RHCSA Course Content

  • Managing local storage, including encrypted volumes
  • Deploying network services, including VNC, SSH, FTP, and web services
  • Securing files with ACLs and network services with the firewall and SELinux
  • Managing virtual machines with KVM technology
  • Automating installation of Linux using kickstart

RHCE Course Outline

Unit 1: Software Management
Objective: Manage packages with yum, rpm, and RHN; build an RPM package and place it in a repository

Unit 2: Network Management
Objective: Configure and troubleshoot network settings; configure network bonding and IP aliases

Unit 3: Storage Management
Objective: Manage partitioning, filesystems, and swap space; configure encrypted partitions and iSCSI initiator

Unit 4: Logical Volume Management (LVM)
Objective: Manage physical volumes, volume groups, and logical volumes with their filesystems

Unit 5: Account Management
Objective: Provide password aging for accounts; use ACLs and SGID directories for collaborative directories

Unit 6: Authentication Management
Objective: Configure an LDAP and Kerberos client; configure autofs to support an authentication client; Configure sudo and SSD

Unit 7: Installation, Kickstart, and Virtualization
Objective: Install a system and manage kickstart and firstboot; use virtualization tools to manage virtual machines

Unit 8: Boot Management
Objective: Configure runlevels and sysctl; reset the root password; understand the boot process

Unit 9 : Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux) Management
Objective: Understand, troubleshoot, and manage SELinux

Unit 10: Firewall Management
Objective: Manage the firewall

Unit 11: Network Time Protocol (NTP) Service
Objective: Configure an NTP server and provide that service to clients

Unit 12: System Logging Service
Objective: Create disk, I/O, and memory usage reports; configure remote logging

Unit 13: Web (HTTP/HTTPS) Service
Objective: Manage a web server with virtual hosts, CGI scripts, and user-based file/directory access controls

Unit 14: SMTP Service
Objective: Null client; outbound smarthost relay; accept inbound connections

Unit 15: Caching-only (DNS) Service
Objective: Configure a caching nameserver and DNS forwarder

Unit 16: File Sharing with NFS
Objective: Manage and secure the NFS service using NFSv3 and NFSv4

Unit 17: File Sharing with CIFS
Objective: Configure the CIFS to provide home directories, file sharing, and printer service; use a client to access the CIFS shares

Unit 18: File Transfer Protocol (FTP) Service
Objective: Provide FTP drop-box upload service

Unit 19: Secure Shell (SSH) Service
Objective: Configure and implement SSH keys

Unit 20: Comprehensive Review
Objective: Review tasks previously taught in class